There was an error hooking Directx. Hook64 will now close.

This forum is for any technical support related to Hook64.
All support threads are closely monitored.

Moderators: Developers, Moderators

Legoindie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 5:35 pm, Sun Jul 19, 2020

There was an error hooking Directx. Hook64 will now close.

Postby Legoindie » 5:37 pm, Sun Jul 19, 2020

Hi,

Every time I try to run the game (Steam version) through Hook64, I get the error message in the title and it crashes on startup. I was using the tool for a few hours yesterday without issue, and then started encountering this. I have tried redownloading, to no avail.
Any help is appreciated.

User avatar
Sorien
Developer
Posts: 595
Joined: 3:28 pm, Sun Jul 19, 2015

Re: There was an error hooking Directx. Hook64 will now close.

Postby Sorien » 8:22 pm, Sun Jul 19, 2020

Which game, ESO? Have you tried rebooting?

Legoindie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 5:35 pm, Sun Jul 19, 2020

Re: There was an error hooking Directx. Hook64 will now close.

Postby Legoindie » 8:35 pm, Sun Jul 19, 2020

ESO yes, sorry. I have tried rebooting, nothing changes.

User avatar
Sorien
Developer
Posts: 595
Joined: 3:28 pm, Sun Jul 19, 2015

Re: There was an error hooking Directx. Hook64 will now close.

Postby Sorien » 10:39 pm, Sun Jul 19, 2020

Legoindie wrote:
8:35 pm, Sun Jul 19, 2020
ESO yes, sorry. I have tried rebooting, nothing changes.
I'll check it out sometime tonight to make sure it's not a problem with Hook64. If it's not a problem with Hook64, do you want me to AnyDesk and help you figure out what's wrong?

User avatar
Sorien
Developer
Posts: 595
Joined: 3:28 pm, Sun Jul 19, 2015

Re: There was an error hooking Directx. Hook64 will now close.

Postby Sorien » 9:08 am, Mon Jul 20, 2020

Legoindie wrote:
8:35 pm, Sun Jul 19, 2020
ESO yes, sorry. I have tried rebooting, nothing changes.
I checked and it doesn't seem to be a problem with Hook64. What Windows are you using? Are you using any other graphics mods?

It may be related to the the hooking timeout I added though... let me increase the timeout and see if that solves it for you.

Edit: Try redownloading it now, I increased the timeout from 5s to 30s, which should help if your game opens too slow.

Legoindie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 5:35 pm, Sun Jul 19, 2020

Re: There was an error hooking Directx. Hook64 will now close.

Postby Legoindie » 3:33 pm, Mon Jul 20, 2020

I'll give redownloading a shot and let you know if anything changed. I am using Windows 10 Home, and I am only running Reshade with the ESO Graphics Extender preset for it. I do have a few things in my addon folder that aren't actually working, I will try removing those as well.

Legoindie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 5:35 pm, Sun Jul 19, 2020

Re: There was an error hooking Directx. Hook64 will now close.

Postby Legoindie » 3:42 pm, Mon Jul 20, 2020

The updated version no longer even launches the game. I checked the information on ESO to confirm Hook64 has the correct directory, which it does. But when running the game through Hook64, I get the wheel on my mouse saying it is loading, but nothing opens. In my task manager, ESO shows up, but is listed as suspended.

Legoindie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 5:35 pm, Sun Jul 19, 2020

Re: There was an error hooking Directx. Hook64 will now close.

Postby Legoindie » 3:43 pm, Mon Jul 20, 2020

Update: I redownloaded it again as my antivirus had deleted some files. The game opens, but closes with the same error message as before, unfortunately.

User avatar
Sorien
Developer
Posts: 595
Joined: 3:28 pm, Sun Jul 19, 2015

Re: There was an error hooking Directx. Hook64 will now close.

Postby Sorien » 6:05 pm, Mon Jul 20, 2020

Legoindie wrote:
3:43 pm, Mon Jul 20, 2020
Update: I redownloaded it again as my antivirus had deleted some files. The game opens, but closes with the same error message as before, unfortunately.
Hm heh... I'm really not sure what it could be then. Did you try disabling reshade and only using Hook64?

Would you want to use AnyDesk or something and let me try to figure out what's wrong?

Legoindie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: 5:35 pm, Sun Jul 19, 2020

Re: There was an error hooking Directx. Hook64 will now close.

Postby Legoindie » 8:29 pm, Mon Jul 20, 2020

I appreciate it, but I think I will just let it be for now. I'd personally prefer having the reshade shaders if I can only choose one, and this seems like an issue only I am having so at least it's not widespread!


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
EULA & Privacy Policy
 

 

cron